A couple of months ago, my college hosted one of the most amazing speakers I’ve ever had the pleasure of listening to: Kevin Hines. Among one of the less than one percent of people that have survived jumping off the Golden Gate Bridge, this dude is on fire, spreading his message of encouragement and hope across America. I’ve included the link to his website, and I strongly encourage you to check it out. His story is beautiful and so encouraging, the perfect way to restore your faith in humanity:

http://www.kevinhinesstory.com/bio/

Unfortunately, the terrible tragedy of suicide has been sweeping the nation like an epidemic. Even where I live, where people are usually few and far between, theres have been instances of this terrible loss. Fortunately, nobody closely related to me has felt the need to end their own life, but I also understand that you can never be too careful; many of the victims of suicide never let on to their true feelings.

One of the things that really caught my attention during Mr. Hines’ presentation was the fact that people traveling towards their chosen final destination often make deals with themselves: “if one person smiles at me, I won’t do it,” “if just one person asks me if I’m doing okay, I won’t go through with it.” These are only two examples, but isn’t it unimaginably sad that in our materialistically-affluent-yet-prideful American culture, we can’t find the time/justification/reason to go up to someone who looks a little down and ask them if they’re okay?

What’s the worst that could happen to you?? Maybe worst-case scenario, they tell you to leave them alone. But what if you make a new friend? Are you really willing to risk what could be someone’s life over your unwillingness to ask a potentially embarrassing question? Are we so emotionally dead as a nation that we can’t make ourselves care about the well-being of anyone outside of our tight social circles? What kinds of emotionally and psychologically damaging environments are people building to make these people feel the need to end their own lives? Shouldn’t we be seeing this epidemic as a problem? Why are the numbers of suicides skyrocketing?

I’m challenging each of you to make a stand in your own life. Instead of keeping your head down, inconspicuous (and therefore devoid of any responsibility), no matter where you find yourself, please be that one person who lets other people know that they are valued, noticed, and cared for. It doesn’t matter if you know them or not; I think that the potential of saving a life far outweighs the potential for embarrassment. At least you’ll be able to say that you tried, right?

The movement back towards a psychologically and mentally healthy society can start with those who might not think they have the power to make that much of a difference. If you’re one of the people who believes yourself when you say that, I’d like to direct your attention to a quote I find most inspiring:

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAocAAAAJDUzZjEzZWNmLTYwZGQtNGE5ZC1iMjE1LTIwODY4ZWI1ZWQyZQ

…Fin

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑